United Kingdom
United States
United Kingdom
United States

Contact us

Class Association


Results / Llandegfedd SC - 09/04/2022

Merrick Stanley & Victoria Upton, 2nd placed overall Ashley Hill & Henry Hallam and 1st bronze boat Will Querée & Éabha Strong-Wright

RS 200 SW Ugly Tour 2022, sponsored by West Country Boat Repairs, kicked off at Llandegfedd SC - by Merrick Stanley

Twelve boats sailed out onto the water for the first RS200 SW Ugly Tour event of the season at Llandegfedd, in a shifty 8-10 knots of breeze coming down over the hills from the north-west.

Race 1 started with a large left shift, favouring the boats which tacked early at the pin. Local legends (boat) Merrick Stanley & Victoria Upton were first to the windward mark and managed to maintain their lead in the shifty conditions, closely followed by Henry Hallam & Ashley Hill, and Owain Hughes & Mari Shepherd moving through the fleet to take third at the finish.

Race 2 began much like Race 1, with the boats at the pin taking the early advantage with an early tack. Hughes/Shepherd were first to the windward mark closely followed by Stanley/Upton. It was a tight race at the front with four boats fighting for the lead, trying to avoid the holes in the wind. Hughes/Shepherd maintained their lead to the finish, with David Sheet & Anna Mason moving through into second and Hallam/Hill taking third at the final leeward mark.

Race 3 saw the wind move around to the south-west and drop. PRO Mark Williams did a great job getting us under way with everyone looking for wind. Hughes/Shepherd guessed right and took a sizeable lead with the rest of the fleet chasing them. With the new wind at roughly a right angle to the course, it became a tricky decision between holding the kite or dropping it on the tight reach of the ‘upwind' and ‘downwind’ legs. Stanley/Upton managed to catch Hughes/Shepherd at the final mark to steal the win, with Hallam/Hill making their way through the fleet during the race to take third.

For the final race, a more consistent northerly breeze came in pre-start. A shifty first beat proved difficult, with Nick and Hannah Smith getting it right to be first to the windward mark. A strong downwind from Stanley/Upton saw them take the lead with Rosie Hallam & Benjy Marsden fighting closely with Hallam/Hill for second. On the final upwind leg, Hallam/Hill played the shifts well to move through into first, winning the race, followed across the line by Stanley/Upton and Hallam/Marsden in second and third respectively.

After racing, we were met by excellent tea and cake and a chance to chat in the sun on the clubhouse balcony. With the final results: Will Querée & Éabha Strong-Wright from the University of Bath were first bronze boat and David Sheet & Anna Mason from Chew Valley first silver. Merrick Stanley & Victoria Upton from Llandegfedd won their first SW Ugly tour event, with Henry Hallam & Ashley Hill from St Mawes a close second in front Owain Hughs & Mari Shepherd from Parkstone.

A massive thank you to the race team and volunteers at Llandegfedd for putting on a great event, and all the competitors who made the trip for a competitive day of racing. Everyone is eagerly looking forward to the next SW Ugly Tour event at South Cerney on the 7th May.

Photos: on water photos by Mark Williams. Prize giving photo shows: Overall event winners Merrick Stanley & Victoria Upton, 2nd placed overall Ashley Hill & Henry Hallam and 1st bronze boat Will Querée & Éabha Strong-Wright. - photo by Frankie Upton.



Sailed: 4, Discards: 1, To count: 3, Entries: 12, Scoring system: Appendix A


Rank Fleet Class SailNo Club HelmName CrewName R1 R2 R3 R4 Total Nett
1st Gold RS 200 1078 LLSC M. Stanley V. Upton 1.0 (4.0) 1.0 2.0 8.0 4.0
2nd Gold RS 200 1621 St. Mawes H. Hallam A. Hill 2.0 (3.0) 3.0 1.0 9.0 6.0
3rd Gold RS 200 1640 PVC O. Hughs M. Shepherd 3.0 1.0 2.0 (5.0) 11.0 6.0
4th Silver RS 200 1466 Chew V. D. Sheet A. Mason (7.0) 2.0 5.0 6.0 20.0 13.0
5th Silver RS 200 1122 CBYC I. Lavery C. Allen 4.0 6.0 4.0 (7.0) 21.0 14.0
6th Silver RS 200 1342A Thornbury N. Smith H. Smith (9.0) 5.0 7.0 4.0 25.0 16.0
7th Silver RS 200 1980 St. Mawes R. Hallam B. Marsden 5.0 (13.0 DSQ) 10.0 3.0 31.0 18.0
8th Silver RS 200 1145 BCYC N. Smith M. Ross 6.0 7.0 (9.0) 9.0 31.0 22.0
9th Silver RS 200 1342 LLSC S.Green D. Green 8.0 8.0 8.0 (11.0) 35.0 24.0
10th Gold RS 200 1308 CBYC M. Oakey J. Smith 10.0 9.0 6.0 (13.0 DNS) 38.0 25.0
11th Bronze RS 200 443 UBSC W. Queree E. Strong-Wright (12.0) 11.0 12.0 8.0 43.0 31.0
12th Bronze RS 200 1340 CVLSC E. Harris M. Dennis (11.0) 10.0 11.0 10.0 42.0 31.0
Sailwave Scoring Software 2.29.0
Privacy Policy | Developed and Supported by YorkSoft ltd