United Kingdom
United States

Harken RS200 Youth and Junior Championship

  • RS200 Youth & Hunior Champs 2019
  • RS200 Youth & Hunior Champs 2019
  • RS200 Youth & Hunior Champs 2019
  • RS200 Youth & Hunior Champs 2019
  • RS200 Youth & Hunior Champs 2019

What a brilliant weekend we had at Rutland for the Youth and Junior Champs joint with the RS Aero class. 8 races with a range of windspeeds. Great to see new faces joining the fleet who are now keen to get involved in the fleet! Think we also showed the Aeros what we are all about, having a great time both on and off the water!

Congartulations to our RS200 Youth Champions Robbie King and Jamie Webb, to our Junior Champions James and Tom Johnson and to Cambridge Uni for winning the Top Uni Booom of Doom!

Also big love to @jjreast for the photos, be sure to check out the full album which will be available soon

Event report

14 boats took to Rutland for the Harken RS200 Youth and Junior Championships, with varying conditions across the weekend making for some interesting racing for all.

Saturday’s racing saw some breezy conditions that allowed the PRO to get racing going nice and quickly so we could avoid the rain later in the day. Race one saw some close racing at the front despite the heavy winds, however behind this, the high winds meant high speeds downwind extending gaps between boats. Tight racing right to the last mark resulted in Robbie King and Jamie Webb taking the win followed by Chay Taylor and Niamh Davies in second and Will Taylor and Fiona Mulcahy in a close third.

The rest of the day continued with the heavy winds as the fleet started to get closer as everyone started to adjust to the conditions. Race 2 saw Will and Fiona move to the front with Alex Smallwood and Callum Farnden in second and Chay and Niamh taking third. To finish the day, Robbie and Jamie took the wins in races 3 and 4, with Will and Fiona coming in second on both and Chay and Niamh taking third in race 3 and Alex and Callum in race 4.

Saturday’s results left Robbie and Jamie leading overnight with Will and Fiona in second and Chay and Niamh taking third. The close overall points overnight would mean for some great racing on Sunday with a lot to play for.

After racing the fleet reconvened in the bar to reflect on the days racing and it was clear to see a few tired bodies that were looking forward to the BBQ that the club had laid on. After the BBQ the Aeros decided to join when we commenced the games for the evening and it was great to see both fleets joining in and having fun.

Sunday started off with some lighter breeze bringing the racing closer together and some lighter pairings towards the front of the fleet. Some shifty conditions saw some delays before the first race got underway but resulted in some great, close racing right through the fleet.

Race five saw Robbie and Jamie and Jamie take the first win of the day, followed through the finish by Ollie and Esther and Bethan Mathew and James Scott finishing third. This set the tone for the day with many results being rather scrambled and consistency becoming the key to keeping at the top of the results.

The final results saw Robbie King and Jamie Web taking the Harken RS200 Youth Champions title, followed by Will Taylor and Fiona Mulcahy in second and Chay Taylor and Niamh Davies taking the third spot. Also, taking home a new “Boom of Doom”, Cambridge University won the first university title.

Of course, our thanks go to Rutland Sailing Clubs organising and race committee for putting on such a well run event. We hope to see even more of you next year as we build off this fantastic event!


Chay Taylor

RS200 Fleet

Sailed: 8, Discards: 1, To count: 7, Entries: 14, Scoring system: Appendix A
Rank Fleet Sail Club Helm CrewName R1 R2 R3 R4 R5 R6 R7 R8 Total Nett Categories
1st RS200 1570   Robbie King Jamie Webb 1 (4) 1 1 1 2 1 2 13 9  
2nd RS200 626 Lymington Town SC Will Taylor Fiona Mulcahy 3 1 2 2 4 (8) 3 3 26 18  
3rd RS200 985 Burnham SC Chay Taylor Niamh Davies 2 3 3 5 5 3 (8) 7 36 28  
4th RS200 1521   Bethan Matthew James Scott 5 7 8 4 3 1 4 (15 DNC) 47 32  
5th RS200 965   Alex Smallwood Callum Farnden (6) 2 6 3 6 5 6 4 38 32  
6th RS200 1358 Budworth SC Charlie Whittaker Lucy Gates 7 8 5 6 (13) 9 9 5 62 49  
7th RS200 1700 Beaver Ollie Groves Esther Parkhurst (15 DNC) 15 DNC 15 DNC 15 DNC 2 4 2 1 69 54  
8th RS200 939 Windermere School James Johnson Tom Johnson 10 (15 DNF) 9 7 8 7 7 8 71 56  
9th RS200 1636 Frencham Pond SC Charlotte Videlo Rebecca Videlo (15 DNC) 5 15 RET 15 DNC 7 6 5 9 77 62  
10th RS200 999 Starcross YC Greg Bartlett Lucy Pennant 4 6 4 (15 RET) 14 12 13 13 81 66  
11th RS200 1340 Waldringfield SC Edward Harris Will Knatchbull 8 (15 DNC) 15 DNC 8 9 10 15 UFD 6 86 71  
12th RS200 1242   Will Birchall Krystal Law (15 DNC) 15 DNC 7 9 11 14 10 12 93 78  
13th RS200 714 Cambridge Uni Alex Baxter Hugh Tomkins 9 (15 DNC) 15 DNC 15 DNC 10 11 11 10 96 81  
14th RS200 407 South Cerney YC Francesa Neale Will Farrant (15 RET) 15 DNC 15 DNC 15 DNC 12 13 12 11 108 93  



Sailwave Scoring Software 2.28.1

Website Security Test