United Kingdom
United States


The 2019 season for the RS200 SW Ugly tour, sponsored by Westcountry Boat Repairs, has begun! The first event in the best regional circuit going, was at Bristol Corinthian YC on the anything but unlucky 13th April, with a promise of wind and sunshine. As the fleet launched into a slightly friskier than expected easterly wind, the sun shone down and promised some close competitive racing.


Race one eventually got underway after several false starts, on a day that had decided to hit the shifty button, and keep everybody on their toes. Mr Ugly himself, Pete Vincent and Victoria Upton, took charge and started to build a lead, with the chasing pack picking their way through the 10-12kt shifty winds. However the first of a new phenomenon was to occur, the newly named Ugly gust, putting the lead boat of Pete 'Ugly' Vincent/Victoria Upton into windward, and simultaneously removing their boom from the gooseneck, causing a watery ending to their race. The final run saw John Teague/Naomi Pound take the win, from Edd Whitehead/Izzy Savage hot on their heels, from Tom/Jo Hewitson, Nick Smith/Max Ross and Nick/Hannah Smith chasing hard.


Race two once again saw some shifty wind and false starts, with Whitehead/Savage holding the fleet up the second beat in a gusty 15kts, only for, BOOM, another Ugly gust! This time a full 100degree self tacking monster, masterfully handled/survived by Edd and Izzy, giving the chasing fleet seconds to prepare. The first victims of this Ugliness being Alistair Norris/Helen Summersgill, going in to windward, and then showing off their agility and quick reflexes to both make the board and be back sailing in seconds. The fleet behind was a scene of carnage as boats had various success in dealing with this Ugly gust, some wetter than others! Whitehead/Savage capitalised on the gust, maintaining a safe lead to the finish, with Teague/Pound leading the chasing pack, from Norris/Summersgill, Jamie Harris/Taddie Horacek and Dave Sweet/Derian Scott.


Race three saw the conditions lighten a little, with no let up in the shifts though! Teague/Pound and Norris/Summersgill had a tight battle all race, holding positions until the finish, with Vincent/Upton holding Whitehead/Savage and Fred Mainwaring/Ryan Bush off. Onto the final race, with a course move around as the wind finally moved as per the forecast to a more southerly direction, and a general recall, the fleet were off. A left hand shift in the final minute saw a pin bias, and the fleet headed off to take advantage of this, absolutely nailing the first beat, and holding an impressive lead to the finish was Jeremy Stephens/Rebecca Stephens. The race for second was won after a three way battle by Norris/Summersgill from Teague/Pound and Harris/Horacek with Vincent/Upton chasing hard. Sunshine and a planing final run allowed the fleet to stretch their legs and prepare for cake and the prize giving.


With a big drive to reduce our reliance on single use plastic, BCYC fleet captain Alistair Norris, championing the campaign, presented Darren McNamara/Finn Pritchard with the prize for not using any single use plastic during the event, not such an easy thing to do with our slight addiction to PVC electrical tape! John Teague/Naomi Pound from home club BCYC won overall, with Edd Whitehead/Izzy Savage from Parkstone/Filey/BCYC taking second on countback from Alistair Norris/Helen Summersgill from BCYC. Fourth place went to the far travelling boat from Penzance, Jeremy/Rebecca Stephens, and the tours namesake Pete Vincent/Victoria Upton from BCYC/Llandegfedd. Silver fleet was won by the purple boat from Thornbury, Nick/Hannah Smith with the Chew Valley team of David Sweet/Derian Scott taking second. In Bronze fleet another boat from Cornwall, this time St Mawes, Amy Boyle/Roisin O'Halloran took the win convincingly by 11 points from Sarah/David Green from Llandegfedd.


The next event on the tour takes us to the Bristol Channel, and Thornbury Sailing Club, less than a month away on May 11th, don't miss it!


John Teague


RS200 Open 2019



RS200 Open 2019


Sailed: 4, Discards: 1, To count: 3, Entries: 21, Scoring system: Appendix A
Rank Fleet SailNo Cat HelmName CrewName Club R1
Total Nett
1st Gold 1365   John Teague Naomi Pound BCYC 1.0 2.0 1.0 (3.0) 7.0 4.0
2nd Gold 1626   Ed Whitehead Izzy Savage Filey/BCYC 2.0 1.0 4.0 (7.0) 14.0 7.0
3rd Gold 1509   Alistair Norris Helen Summersgill BCYC (6.0) 3.0 2.0 2.0 13.0 7.0
4th Gold 846   Jeremy Stephens Rebecca Stevens Penzance SC (8.0) 7.0 6.0 1.0 22.0 14.0
5th Gold 1445   Pete Vincent Victoria Upton BCYC/Llandegfedd (22.0 DNF) 9.0 3.0 5.0 39.0 17.0
6th Silver 379   Nick Smith Hannah Smith Thornbury SC 5.0 (11.0) 7.0 6.0 29.0 18.0
6th Gold 418   Fred Mainwaring Ryan Bush Exe SC 7.0 6.0 5.0 (12.0) 30.0 18.0
8th Gold 1439   Jamie Harris Taddy Horaceck BCYC (11.0) 4.0 11.0 4.0 30.0 19.0
9th Silver 1466   David Sweet Derian Scott CVLSC (12.0) 5.0 8.0 11.0 36.0 24.0
10th Silver 1145   Nick Smith Max Ross BCYC 4.0 (15.0) 13.0 8.0 40.0 25.0
11th Silver 1383   Oliver Cage-White Emily Wingfield-Digby Broadstairs CC (13.0) 8.0 12.0 9.0 42.0 29.0
12th Bronze 1684   Amy Boyle Roisin O'Halloran St Mawes 9.0 10.0 (15.0) 10.0 44.0 29.0
13th Gold 1633   Tom Hewitson Jo Hewitson HISC 3.0 (22.0 OCS) 9.0 22.0 BFD 56.0 34.0
14th Silver 1452   Alistair Hodgson Joanna Worrall RYA 10.0 14.0 10.0 (22.0 DNC) 56.0 34.0
15th Bronze 1342   Sarah Green David Green Llandegford (16.0) 13.0 14.0 13.0 56.0 40.0
16th Bronze 489   Ed Stubbs Dave Stubbs Lyme Regis 15.0 12.0 (17.0) 15.0 59.0 42.0
17th Bronze 977   Darren McNamara Finn Pritchard BCYC 17.0 16.0 16.0 (22.0 BFD) 71.0 49.0
18th Bronze 505   Jon Wood Felix wood Avon SC 14.0 17.0 19.0 (22.0 DNC) 72.0 50.0
19th Bronze 1641   Will Rhodes Clare Horakova BCYC (20.0) 19.0 20.0 14.0 73.0 53.0
20th Bronze 547   Giles Griffith Dan Wright Durleigh SC 19.0 (20.0) 18.0 16.0 73.0 53.0
21st Bronze 832   Pete Alvey Andy Gordon CVLSC 18.0 18.0 (21.0) 17.0 74.0 53.0

Sailwave Scoring Software 2.25.11

Website Security Test